A Note to the GdC

Detail of cover art for 'Introducing Happiness' by Rheostatics (Sire Records, 1994).

It is my deepest honor, my lady. My greatest privilege. My ineffable pleasure. Thank you.

You are a treasure, you’ll never be found; gathering coral in a galleon. Seeding anemones, feeding the reef in some lagoon in Barbados. And I must retrieve you, for I will get paid and build a big house in Vancouver town. Living in castles a bit at a time. Walking the borders of countries. You be in these shoes, and I’ll be in those―do you see dots when I’m talking to you? One lemon, two lemons, one rosy peach; six lonely souls and a moron. My mind is a porpoise alone on a beach, counting the waves as he’s dying.

Rheostatics, “You Are a Treasure” (1994)

Leave a Reply

