Your Morning Metal (Beer Bong)

Detail of cover art for 'Socialized Hate' by Atrophy (Roadrunner Records, 1988)

TURD: Oh, come on, do you really need the unfortunately requisite disclaimer about binge drinking?

Beer bong! suck it down! Beer bong! don’t do it wrong! Beer bong! don’t take too long, or else you’ll down! Beer bong! gulp it down! Beer bong! if you can! Beer bong! make it vanish if you’re a man! Heidelberg! Dutch Treat! Black Label! Beer bong! it’s very clear! Beer bong! you must be daring! Beer bong! or else the beer you’ll be wearing! Beer bong! and tomorrow―Beer bong! when I wake―Beer bong!―to my sorrow, my head will ache! Meister Brau! Blatz! Grain Belt! Old Milwaukee! Pearl! Shaeffer!​

Atrophy, “Beer Bong” (1988)

If I recall correctly, I picked up a vinyl copy of this album around ’91, largely because I was looking for something I hadn’t heard, it was Roadrunner Records, and it had a song called “Beer Bong” on it. Why not? Really, that makes a lot more sense if you’re me twenty-some years ago.

Ah, youth.

It’s a fun album.

Leave a Reply

